CPCA reports that Audi introduced the compact A2 e-tron on 7 September 2026 to strengthen its position in Europe’s small-car market and respond to competition from Chinese carmakers. CPCA says Audi claims 12.8 kWh/100 km energy consumption, up to 646 km of range, German production, and deliveries starting in December.
For a BYD Han owner in Europe, this is not news about an existing car getting cheaper or better supported tomorrow. It is one more reason to watch what compact EV competition does to the questions buyers ask about price, efficiency, delivery and long-term support.
What did CPCA report about the Audi A2 e-tron?
CPCA reports that Audi launched the A2 e-tron, a compact electric vehicle, on 7 September 2026 to expand its presence in Europe’s small-car market and answer competition from Chinese manufacturers. CPCA identifies the car as an Audi model intended for the European market.
The publication also reports Audi’s claimed efficiency and range figures. According to CPCA’s account of Audi’s announcement, the A2 e-tron uses 12.8 kWh per 100 km and has a maximum range of 646 km, or 401 miles.
That is a compact-car claim, not a direct comparison with a BYD Han. The Han is a different kind of car, built for a different job. But compact EVs are where price pressure can become visible first, because buyers can compare a lot of alternatives without needing a five-metre saloon.
What are Audi’s claimed range and efficiency figures?
According to CPCA, Audi says the A2 e-tron consumes 12.8 kWh/100 km and can travel up to 646 km on its maximum-range claim. CPCA also says Audi calls it the most energy-efficient model in the brand’s history.
Those are manufacturer claims reported by CPCA, so they need to be read exactly that way. CPCA’s short item does not state the test cycle, battery size, charging speed, price, trim level, or the conditions behind the 646 km figure.
| Item | What CPCA reports | What CPCA does not report |
|---|---|---|
| Model | Audi A2 e-tron compact EV | Battery capacity |
| Claimed consumption | 12.8 kWh/100 km, according to Audi | Test conditions |
| Claimed range | Up to 646 km / 401 miles, according to Audi | Test cycle and trim details |
| Production | Ingolstadt, Germany | European pricing |
| Deliveries | Starting in December | Exact delivery markets and volumes |
This is why one launch number is never enough to decide whether a car is good value. A range figure without its conditions can look much more useful than it really is.
When will the Audi A2 e-tron be built and delivered?
CPCA reports that the Audi A2 e-tron will be produced at Audi’s Ingolstadt factory in Germany and that deliveries will begin in December. The CPCA item does not give a price, production volume, or a country-by-country delivery schedule.
December is close enough that this should turn from a launch claim into a real market product fairly quickly. Then the useful questions become less glamorous: what does it cost, which version gets the headline efficiency figure, and how easily can an owner get parts or competent support?
A launch announcement cannot answer those questions. But it can make them harder for every manufacturer to avoid.
Could a new compact Audi EV affect BYD buyers in Europe?
CPCA says Audi introduced the A2 e-tron partly to respond to competition from Chinese carmakers in Europe’s small-car market. That alone does not prove lower prices, better dealer support, or a better ownership experience from any brand.
Still, more serious choices in the compact EV market should make buyers less willing to accept vague answers. A buyer comparing electric cars should ask what range figure applies to which version, when deliveries actually begin, and what happens after handover. The practical version of that checklist is in nine questions to ask a BYD dealer.
This is the boring part of EV competition, but it is the part that matters after the brochure is closed. A claimed 646 km is interesting. Knowing what the car costs, how it is supported, and whether the claim matches the version being sold is the actual purchase decision.
What does CPCA’s report leave unanswered?
CPCA’s report does not provide an Audi A2 e-tron price, battery capacity, charging specification, detailed range-test conditions, or information about service arrangements. CPCA also does not say whether Audi will sell the model in every European market.
That is not a criticism of CPCA’s item. It is just the boundary of what the item contains.
And uh yeah.
There is a lot of space between “up to 646 km” and “this is the car I should buy.”
FAQ
What is the Audi A2 e-tron?
CPCA reports that the Audi A2 e-tron is a new compact electric vehicle introduced by Audi on 7 September 2026 for Europe’s small-car market.
What range does the Audi A2 e-tron claim?
CPCA reports that Audi claims a maximum range of 646 km, or 401 miles, for the A2 e-tron. CPCA’s item does not state the test cycle or conditions behind that figure.
How efficient is the Audi A2 e-tron?
According to CPCA, Audi says the A2 e-tron consumes 12.8 kWh/100 km and is the most energy-efficient Audi model in the brand’s history.
Where will the Audi A2 e-tron be built?
CPCA reports that Audi will build the A2 e-tron at its Ingolstadt factory in Germany.
When will Audi A2 e-tron deliveries start?
CPCA reports that deliveries of the Audi A2 e-tron will begin in December.
Does CPCA report the Audi A2 e-tron price?
No. CPCA’s report gives no price, battery capacity, charging data, or detailed market-by-market delivery information.
Source
This post comments on a primary-source item published by the China Passenger Car Association (CPCA) on 9 September 2026: Audi launches a new compact electric vehicle to boost European sales. The original CPCA page is in Chinese, and every translation in this post is my own. CPCA identifies the item’s source as Gasgoo, while the efficiency, range and model-history claims are presented by CPCA as Audi’s claims, not as independently tested results.
Leave a comment