CPCA reports that Geely plans to build more than 22,000 charging stations and more than 100,000 charging connectors in China by the end of 2027. CPCA also reports that Geely presented a charging technology with a claimed single-connector peak charging power of 2.2 MW.
This is a large Chinese infrastructure plan, not a charging pass for European owners. CPCA does not say that the stations will operate outside China, support imported cars in Europe, or give a BYD Han owner in Portugal any new place to charge.
The useful signal is competition. According to CPCA, Geely is putting serious scale behind charging infrastructure, and that matters because EV ownership gets easier when manufacturers are forced to compete on the boring part: whether the car can actually be charged without planning the whole day around it.
What is Geely planning for charging in China?
CPCA reports that Geely plans more than 22,000 charging stations and more than 100,000 charging connectors in China by the end of 2027. Of those planned sites, CPCA says more than 15,000 would be Geely smart-charging stations, with more than 50,000 smart-charging connectors.
The CPCA item, which credits Cailian Press as its source, says Geely formally presented its next-generation AI charging technology on 23 September. CPCA reports that the system uses an energy-management model developed by Geely together with StepStar and claims peak charging power of 2.2 MW from one connector.
That is the headline number.
But charging infrastructure is not only about the headline number. A charger can be extremely fast and still be useless to an owner if it is in the wrong country, behind the wrong app, or built for a network they cannot access.
How big is Geely’s planned charging network?
CPCA reports two different scales for Geely’s charging-network ambitions: a plan for the end of 2027 and a larger future plan for Haohan Energy.
| CPCA-reported target | By the end of 2027 | Future Haohan Energy planning |
|---|---|---|
| Charging stations | More than 22,000 | More than 150,000 |
| Charging connectors | More than 100,000 | More than 600,000 |
| Smart-charging stations | More than 15,000 | 100,000 |
| Smart-charging connectors | More than 50,000 | Not specified in the CPCA item |
| Geographic aim | County-level coverage across China | Not specified in the CPCA item |
CPCA says Geely aims to achieve county-level coverage across China first. CPCA also says the future Haohan Energy plan covers more than 150,000 charging stations and more than 600,000 charging connectors.
The table is useful because “more chargers” can mean almost anything. Here, CPCA gives both stations and connectors, which are not the same thing. One site can have several places to plug in, and the connector count is the number that matters when several cars arrive at once.
Will Geely’s new charging stations help EV owners in Europe?
No direct benefit is stated in the CPCA report: CPCA describes a Chinese charging buildout and does not say that Geely’s planned stations will expand to Europe or become available to European owners of imported Chinese-market cars.
That distinction matters for my own car. My BYD Han was bought new in China and is driven in Portugal, but CPCA’s report gives me no reason to think a Geely station planned for China changes where I can charge here.
My Han usually charges at around 50 kW in most fast-charging sessions, and getting to roughly half takes around 40 minutes. That is not a complaint about one individual charging stop. It is the practical reality of living with an older Chinese-market EV outside the market it was built for.
The same limitation shows up in my real motorway range experience. An EV is never only the battery or the charging curve on paper. It is the road speed, the usable range, the chargers on the route, and whether those chargers are actually available when you need them.
Why does charging-network competition still matter?
CPCA’s report matters to European EV owners as a sign of Chinese manufacturers competing on infrastructure scale, even though CPCA does not describe any European rollout or access arrangement.
A manufacturer can sell a very convincing electric car and still leave the owner doing logistics. The competition becomes more serious when companies have to compete on charging stations, connector count, network coverage and charging speed as well as screens, acceleration and launch-event words.
CPCA reports that Geely wants more than 22,000 stations in place by the end of 2027. That is not evidence that Europe will receive the same investment. It is evidence that charging infrastructure is becoming part of the product competition in China.
And honestly, it should be. A charging network is less exciting than a new AI label, but it is what decides whether an electric car feels easy to own on a wet Tuesday evening.
What does CPCA’s report not tell us?
CPCA’s item does not say which connector standards Geely’s planned stations will use, what charging prices drivers will pay, whether non-Geely cars can use the network, or whether any part of the network will operate outside China.
Those omissions are important. A planned station count alone does not answer the questions an owner actually has: Can I plug in? How fast will my car charge? Is the charger working? Can I pay without installing another app?
So this is not a post saying Geely has solved charging. CPCA reports a very large plan and a claimed 2.2 MW peak figure. The rest—the standards, access, pricing and real reliability—simply is not in the CPCA item.
That is the boring answer, but boring answers are better than pretending a Chinese charging announcement has already changed European ownership.
FAQ
What is Geely planning to build by the end of 2027?
CPCA reports that Geely plans to build more than 22,000 charging stations and more than 100,000 charging connectors in China by the end of 2027.
How many of Geely’s planned stations are smart-charging stations?
According to CPCA, more than 15,000 of the planned stations would be Geely smart-charging stations, with more than 50,000 smart-charging connectors.
What charging power did Geely claim for its new technology?
CPCA reports that Geely claimed a single-connector peak charging power of 2.2 MW for its next-generation AI charging technology.
Will Geely’s planned Chinese charging network work in Europe?
CPCA does not say that the network will operate in Europe, and it does not describe access for European owners of imported Chinese-market EVs. The report is about planned infrastructure in China.
Does CPCA say whether non-Geely cars can use the stations?
No. CPCA’s item gives planned station and connector totals, but it does not state whether non-Geely vehicles can use the network.
What is Geely’s longer-term charging target?
CPCA reports that Haohan Energy plans a future network of more than 150,000 charging stations and more than 600,000 charging connectors, including 100,000 smart-charging stations.
Source
This post comments on one primary-source item published by the Passenger Car Market Information Joint Committee of the China Automobile Dealers Association, commonly known as CPCA: Geely plans to build more than 22,000 charging stations by the end of 2027. CPCA published the item on 24 September 2026 and attributes its report to Cailian Press.
The original page is in Chinese. Every translation and summary of the plans, technology and figures in this post is my own translation of the CPCA-published text. The claims remain CPCA’s report, not independent confirmation by this site.
Leave a comment