9 views

What do NIO’s August deliveries mean for BYD owners?

NIO says it delivered 35,836 vehicles in August 2026, up 14.5% year over year. Its release splits that total across the NIO, ONVO and firefly brands, and says NIO Inc. delivered 262,893 vehicles in the first eight months of 2026.

For an existing BYD Han owner, this is useful context about another EV manufacturer’s scale, not a practical change to the car already outside. NIO’s 1 September release does not make a claim about BYD, Europe, servicing, parts, or what an owner of another brand can do next.

What did NIO deliver in August 2026?

NIO Inc. says it delivered 35,836 vehicles in August 2026, a 14.5% increase year over year. According to NIO’s 1 September press release, 21,174 of those vehicles came from the NIO brand, 8,810 came from ONVO, and 5,852 came from firefly.

The NIO brand was the only one in the August breakdown for which NIO gave a year-over-year comparison of more than 100%: 21,174 vehicles, up 101.2%.

NIO says firefly delivered 5,852 vehicles in August, up 34.7% year over year. The company gives the ONVO August figure, but does not provide a year-over-year percentage for ONVO in that monthly paragraph.

How were NIO’s August deliveries split by brand?

NIO’s August 2026 release says the NIO brand accounted for 21,174 of the company’s 35,836 deliveries, while ONVO accounted for 8,810 and firefly for 5,852. NIO describes its three brands as premium smart electric vehicles, family-oriented smart electric vehicles, and small smart high-end electric cars respectively.

Brand, as described by NIOAugust 2026 deliveriesYear-over-year change stated by NIO
NIO21,174Up 101.2%
ONVO8,810Not stated for August
firefly5,852Up 34.7%
NIO Inc. total35,836Up 14.5%

That table is only NIO’s own delivery report. It is not a comparison of vehicles, quality, ownership costs, or support.

How many vehicles has NIO delivered in 2026?

NIO Inc. says it delivered 262,893 vehicles in the first eight months of 2026, up 57.9% year over year. NIO also says its cumulative deliveries had reached 1,260,485 vehicles at the time of the release.

NIO attributes 160,670 deliveries in the first eight months to the NIO brand, 61,428 to ONVO, and 40,795 to firefly.

BrandJanuary–August 2026 deliveriesYear-over-year change stated by NIO
NIO160,670Up 64.5%
ONVO61,428Up 13.2%
firefly40,795Up 180.3%
NIO Inc. total262,893Up 57.9%

The firefly percentage is the largest one in NIO’s eight-month breakdown: NIO says its 40,795 deliveries represented a 180.3% increase year over year.

Does NIO’s August delivery result change anything for BYD Han owners?

NIO’s August delivery release does not say that it changes anything for an existing BYD Han owner. It reports NIO’s deliveries and cumulative total, but it does not discuss BYD vehicles, imported cars, European ownership, repairs, charging, or support.

That is the bit worth keeping straight. A delivery total can show that a manufacturer is putting more cars into customers’ hands. It cannot, by itself, tell me whether another manufacturer’s older car will become easier to run, easier to repair, or worth keeping.

For the things a delivery report cannot answer, the useful starting point is still my five-year, 50,000 km BYD Han ownership review. Ownership is made of the boring questions after delivery day, not only the number printed in a monthly press release.

What can NIO’s delivery figures tell a buyer?

NIO’s figures show that the company reported 35,836 deliveries in August and 262,893 deliveries in the first eight months of 2026. They also show that NIO is reporting deliveries separately for three brands rather than as one undivided number.

That may be useful background if you are watching the wider EV market. But NIO’s release does not state vehicle prices, running costs, resale values, charging performance, reliability, or availability in any particular country.

So the honest answer is: useful market context, yes. A buying recommendation, no.

FAQ

How many vehicles did NIO deliver in August 2026?

NIO says it delivered 35,836 vehicles in August 2026, representing a 14.5% year-over-year increase.

How many NIO-brand vehicles were delivered in August 2026?

NIO says the NIO brand delivered 21,174 vehicles in August 2026, up 101.2% year over year.

How many ONVO vehicles did NIO deliver in August 2026?

NIO says ONVO delivered 8,810 vehicles in August 2026. The August section of NIO’s release does not give an ONVO year-over-year percentage.

How many firefly vehicles did NIO deliver in August 2026?

NIO says firefly delivered 5,852 vehicles in August 2026, up 34.7% year over year.

What were NIO’s deliveries in the first eight months of 2026?

NIO says it delivered 262,893 vehicles from January through August 2026, up 57.9% year over year.

Does NIO’s August delivery release say anything about BYD Han ownership in Europe?

No. NIO’s release reports its own delivery figures and does not discuss BYD Han ownership, Europe, servicing, parts, or support for cars from another manufacturer.

Source

This post comments on one primary source: the press release published by NIO Inc. on 1 September 2026, titled “NIO Inc. Achieves 14.5% YoY, with 35,836 Deliveries in August.”

NIO Inc. is the publishing body for every delivery figure in this post. The translations and paraphrases here are my own; the delivery claims remain NIO’s claims, not mine.


Leave a comment

Your email address is not published. Comments are moderated, so yours may not show up right away.